75 GL1000 issues

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
mattyj513
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000

75 GL1000 issues

Post by mattyj513 »

Greetings everyone. First off, I am completely new to doing any kind of work on bikes, but do have mechanical/hands on background. I recently purchased a 75 GL1000. Started up fine, rode fine, no issues upon initial inspection. After purchasing, I ended up trailering it home due to inclement weather. Next day, starts up fine, let it warm up while i removed the windjammer installed on it and gave it a quick exterior cleaning, running for approximately 20 minutes or so, no issues. I hop on, hold the clutch, shift to first, release clutch, bike jerks forward and stalls out. Clutch has the correct amount of free play, went through the service manual instructions to confirm it did. Tried a few more times, same results, with the addition of the fuel and temp gauges ceasing to function, bike getting hot, and pissing out some antifreeze. I threw it up on the center stand and was able to shift through the gears without any initial stalling, rear wheel moved and accelerated fine, but if I applied the rear brake it would stall out when the rpms dropped. Any suggestions on where to begin? Again, I am new to this, so any and all info is greatly appreciated.

mattyj513

Re: 75 GL1000 issues

Post by mattyj513 »

Any help for me at all guys? To clarify when it stalls out it is immediate, not a gradual loss of power. Release the clutch after shifting into first, *thunk*, bike is off. I'm really at a loss here, don't even know where to begin.
Maz
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000K1
1976 CB500T
1979 CB750L
1990 Yamaha FJ1200
1993 Suzuki GS500E

Post by Maz »