1976 GL1000 - A Soul's Journey - Ride Across America

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
KarlJanisse
Motorcycle: 1976 GL1000

1976 GL1000 - A Soul's Journey - Ride Across America

Post by KarlJanisse »

Hey guys!
This is my first time posting to this forum (been checking here since day one of GL ownership) so apologies for any lack of etiquette or proper form on my part. If this is in the wrong section - I apologize.

This story starts 4 months ago, I bought a 1976 Honda GL1000 that is in beautiful condition with just over 44,000 miles on the engine. My plan was to ride that beautiful bike across North America - 20,000 miles in total - to spread my dad's ashes in all the places he used to love. Paul Janisse - my dad - was a truck driver, really salt of the earth kind of guy. Any dollar he made went to the ones he loved and he worked himself to the bone to provide for me and mom. We didn't have a lot, but we had enough - he made sure of it.

When he died 3 years ago I promised myself I would honor his life and his sacrifice the only way I knew how. The problem is I kept telling myself I didn't have enough time. I had to keep working. Living in a big city like Toronto.. you work to live, and live to work. Life costs just slightly less than what you can make and that's just the way it works. I always told myself I didn't have enough time to do this.. how would I survive?

Well, it took me over three years to realize that - this reality I was stuck in wasn't good enough. That I refuse to work my life away wishing I had done the crazy thing, Paul worked his life to make sure I could even get this far and he deserves a tribute for his sacrifice. So I left at the end of November on my trusty GL1000 and began this journey.