Restoration question

Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
Rank1
Motorcycle: 1976 GL1000

Restoration question

Post by Rank1 »

Hey everyone, I'm a new owner of a 1976 Gl1000. I have had the project bike itch for some time now after getting a place with a garage and filling it with tools. My plans are to do a complete restoration to get it as close to factory as possible. I will be stripping it down completely to every last nut and bolt. My bike is a 76 with matching frame numbers to the title. The previous owner mentioned the engine was swapped over at some point to a 78. The engine serial matches the 78 year code. Here is my question; will having the mismatched engines affect its sell value? Ultimately I want to restore bikes to sell. I want to determine if I should source a 76 motor or continue with the one I have. I am an apprentice mechanic at a classic car shop and my boss is generous enough to let me use tools and equipment after hours (sandblasters, welders, etc). It is an ambitious project but I am excited to have a motorcycle in the garage again. I look forward y'alls advice and knowledge. Thanks!

Rednaxs60
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 LTD
1995 GL1500 SE CDN Edition
2012 Suzuki DL1000 VStrom
2008 GL1800 (sold)
Ontario 1985 GL1200 LTD (sold)

Re: Restoration question

Post by Rednaxs60 »

I'll weigh in here to start. Welcome to the forum and its insanity. These are great bikes when on the road.