30 amp dogbone fuse replaced with copper wire?


Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
Post Reply
User avatar
Doolin05
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:24 am
Location: Lake City MN
Motorcycle: 1980 GL1100

30 amp dogbone fuse replaced with copper wire?

Post by Doolin05 »



Hi, In the process of cleaning up the 1980 Gl1100 I recently bought I discovered the 30 amp fuse in the magnetic starter? Had at some point by a former owner been replaced with a bit of copper wire stretched between the two little screws in there....hmmmm, that's probably not an oem bit of wire I'm thinking. Suggestions on how to modernize this setup anyone?
Also I've had the bike up on a stand for several weeks now and last night I gave the front wheel a spin and hit the brakes...they now are sticking and dragging. I rebuilt the rear master cylinder and caliper and put on new lines, but was hoping to put the front ones off for awhile to get some riding in, but maybe that was wishful thinking...suggestions would be well appreciated thanks!


User avatar
Rednaxs60
Posts: 2540
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 LTD
1995 GL1500 SE CDN Edition (sold)
2012 Suzuki DL1000 VStrom
2008 GL1800 (sold)
Ontario 1985 GL1200 LTD (sold)

Re: 30 amp dogbone fuse replaced with copper wire?

Post by Rednaxs60 »

A fellow over on Classic Goldwings, McGovern, had the same issue with a copper wire substituted for the dog bone fuse. A get home fix at best, but not a long term fix. You can hook in a 30 amp ATC fuse between the connections, or just replace the starter solenoid with an aftermarket one that has the ATC fuse incorporated.

The brakes are high on my list for safety and because of this I'd recommend doing the front brakes. The cost of the parts/kits are a small price to pay for your personal safety. The MC can be put off, but in my opinion not the calipers or pads.

Just a thought.

Cheers
"When you write the story of your life, don't let anyone else hold the pen"

Ernest
User avatar
Doolin05
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:24 am
Location: Lake City MN
Motorcycle: 1980 GL1100

Re: 30 amp dogbone fuse replaced with copper wire?

Post by Doolin05 »

Thanks for the advice! I will investigate ATC options, and I just finished ordering all the parts for the new brakes...lines,rebuild kits, pads and new reservoir.
Best regards
User avatar
RBGERSON
Posts: 3233
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:57 am
Location: SCOTTSDALE, AZ
Motorcycle: 98 SE GL 1500
had every year from 75 to 83

Re: 30 amp dogbone fuse replaced with copper wire?

Post by RBGERSON »

ONE OF THESE..??


OR OEM still available pic of 1000 but same as the 1100 fuse..$2


or just add eye's to the wires and attach at the little screws..


HAD LOTS OF GOLDWING 75-83
NOW INTO 1500'S..RIDING A 1998 SE

FAIR WINDS,
RB
User avatar
n9lri
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:29 pm
Location: Kokomo IN
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100A Aspencade

Re: 30 amp dogbone fuse replaced with copper wire?

Post by n9lri »

I changed the old fuse out with a resettable circuit breaker. It actually fit pretty easy where the fuse used to go. These can be found on ebay for under 10 dollars.
I'll never need a fuse again. If it trips just push the reset button.
Attachments




User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21966
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: 30 amp dogbone fuse replaced with copper wire?

Post by WingAdmin »

n9lri wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:59 pm I changed the old fuse out with a resettable circuit breaker. It actually fit pretty easy where the fuse used to go. These can be found on ebay for under 10 dollars.
I'll never need a fuse again. If it trips just push the reset button.
I'm sure you meant to say, "if it trips, find and fix the fault that caused it to trip, then push the reset button." :D
User avatar
Doolin05
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:24 am
Location: Lake City MN
Motorcycle: 1980 GL1100

Re: 30 amp dogbone fuse replaced with copper wire?

Post by Doolin05 »

Thanks for the replies everyone! I ended up buying the pig tail setup, adding eyes and cutting the cover so it could be closed. I treated the pig tails with some RTV silicone and found a couple rubber plumbing parts from a faucet that fit around the wires next to the box.
How worried do I need to be about any water getting getting in to those connections? There is not a lot of room in there..I took out the battery cage as it was kinda rusty, painted it and spent an hour trying to fit that back in...that gave me an appreciation of how well everything fits togeather and in place.

Best regards
pixel288
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:29 pm
Location: Brighton, Ontario
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 Aspencade
1982 GS400E Suzuki
2009 CBR 125R HRC colors (daughter's bike)
1982 GL1100 Interstate

Re: 30 amp dogbone fuse replaced with copper wire?

Post by pixel288 »

If everything is tight, a bit of rain or spray will not be any trouble at all. Copper that is covered with shrink tube or rtv won't corrode, so you should be good for a long (10 years) time. :D


Post Reply