1983 GL1100 Strange Vacuum Issues

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
Sleepless Art
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100A Aspencade

1983 GL1100 Strange Vacuum Issues

Post by Sleepless Art »

Thank you for taking the time to read this and I hope someone can assist me here. This is my first post so I will get right down to it.

The Bike: 1983 GL1100A Aspencade 66K mi

The Issue: Cylinders 3 and 4 have a pulsing / crap vacuum. (Gage needle violently sways back and forth) 1 and 2 are perfect (Honestly, this is the only thing that has been perfect on the bike thus far)

The Backstory: The bike for about a 18 months or so in a nice metal pole barn before I bought it 2 months ago. (My first Goldwing. In hindsight should have researched the year better)the bike ran like an asthmatic kitten when I first got it but for its age is in great shape. I am not a pro when it comes to working on bikes but I am mechanically inclined with half a brain to boot. Also reading the how to guides here helped a lot as well. At this point here is all that I have done to the bike to get to where I am now. The carbs have been pulled, rebuilt new injectors, seals, the works. placed them back on the bike, it ran a bit better but now there is a persistent knock at low RPM, Checked spark and compression, Spark: Dead (replaced caps, plugs and wires) Helped some what. Compression: cylinders 1 and 2 100 psi, 3 and 4 65 psi. ( Yeah I know....it hurt me too when I saw it) So I dug deeper. I pulled the heads and deep cleaned them. (Seeing how parts for this model year apparently do no exist any more I had to make due with what I have) Cleaned the valves so they seat correctly again and checked the walls of the cylinders for damage. The walls are beautiful. you can even see the cross hatch marks from the factory. No wall damage to be seen. cleaned all the carbon off the top of the pistons and inspected the original gasket on the heads for signs of leakage, there was none. After cleaning and rep