Rev increase issue when Idle

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
Trulylegend
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100I

Rev increase issue when Idle

Post by Trulylegend »

Hi! My I recently did a carburator rebuild on my Goldwing GL1100. Carbs worked well after testing for a week or two, although the testing was without the air filter housing/box installed. After installing the Airbox and filter, the bike started having an extremely odd idle.

First fire up for the bike had it dying and unable to keep idle rpm high enough. Second starts and subsequent starts had the bike switching between 1100-3000 rpm, with it fluctuating between the two. It would run fine for 30 seconds or so, idling near 1k, then run up to 3000 for a minute or two, then repeat.

I'm a Goldwing newbie, and a newer bike rider as well, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

MattMcCoy
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100A Aspencade

Re: Rev increase issue when Idle

Post by MattMcCoy »

You might have an air leak. Check gaskets on air box, O-rings where intake runners bolt into the heads, and hose clamps on the rubber boots of the runners. They should all be tight, but be careful so you don’t strip anything.
winguyjo
Motorcycle: wing1 : 1982 gl1100 interstate; resurrection complete. SOLD
wing2 : 1980 gl1100 interstate; resurrection complete. SOLD.
wing3 : 81gl1100i frame/82gl1100a engine/81cb900 bits. resurrection complete. naked. SOLD.
wing4 : 1977 gl1000 black w/ blue pinstripes; resurrection complete. SOLD
wing5 : 1977 gl1000 black w/gold pinstripes; nearly roadworthy when purchased, NOW RIDING.
wing6 : 1975 gl1000 blue; SOLD

Post by winguyjo »

i will be watching this with interest ...

i took my carbs apart for cleaning in the winter to fix an extremely minor flat spot around 3500 rpm. hardly noticeable but i am a glutton for punishment so i went ahead. i found the sliders on a couple of carbs just sticky enough to account for this, cleaned them up and re-assembled.