Looking for advice, tips and resources for restoring a 1982 Honda GL1100I. Is it even possible?

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
HazelGrace
Motorcycle: 1982 GL1100A Aspencade

Looking for advice, tips and resources for restoring a 1982 Honda GL1100I. Is it even possible?

Post by HazelGrace »

Hello!

I am in possession of a 1982 Honda Goldwing GL1100 Interstate that is in desperate need of some TLC. I would love to get this thing restored and riding down the road within the next year or two. However, I've never worked on a motorcycle to this extent and would like some help. First, some background.

I have been riding for about 3 years now. I currently ride a 2015 Kawasaki Vulcan S that is my commuter to and from work (when weather permits). Due to the cost savings involved, I quickly started doing my own maintenance and service whenever I could unless it was something I don't have the means to do. Recently, I had the opportunity to pick up this Goldwing at no cost from a relative's estate. Working on my own motorcycle is always something I have looked forward to as it gave me a sense of accomplishment when it was freshly washed, serviced and ready for the road so this opportunity was something I didn't want to pass up. My first question stems from the fact that this motorcycle does not have a title or keys. Is restoring this to a running, road legal bike even possible?