brake lights without a trunk

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
galwegan
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 Goldwing Interstate

brake lights without a trunk

Post by galwegan »

hi all,
newbie here.. lurked for a wee bit, then i signed up.. recently bought a 86 interstate .. has bags but no trunk, has brake / tail and turn lights in the bags but .. i want to remove the license plate mount / tag light and replace it with a brake / tail light assembly from a gold wing standard or some other honda bike.. so i'll have a more visible and traditional brake /tail light on the back.. i intend to leave the brake tail turn lights in the bags too.

so, im asking, can this be reasonably done ? any suggestions , help or other advice ??
thanks, dave

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: brake lights without a trunk

Post by WingAdmin »

You might be able to use a GL1100 brake/taillight/license plate light, if you can figure a way to get it to fit (custom bracketry):

Never miss a video: Subscribe to the GoldwingDocs YouTube channel today!

galwegan

Post by galwegan »

thanks for the reply ..
i was thinking i could just buy a brake tail light assembly from a gl1100 standard or other honda bike ..
use the existing holes in the fender from where the license plate tag light is / was mounted .. or ???
i dunno but i cant believe that im the only guy ( dumb azz ) to want to do this .. lol ..
and wire it up at the bag lights connection under the seat ..
am i nuts ?

CrystalPistol
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SE/'98 Lehman Trike

Post by CrystalPistol »

Or just visit a truck stop lighting aisle and find some nice looking lights to mount under the rear rack where the travel trunk used to be. There's also LEDs.com and etc on line that have all sorts of nice looking lights.
Make Courtesy your "Code of the Road" …

… & Have a Safe Trip!