Not charging

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
ajratt01
Motorcycle: 1976 gl 1000

Not charging

Post by ajratt01 »

Hey everyone. Bought an 84 aspencade a month or so ago and been loving it. When I bought it I noticed the previous owner had a trickle charger hooked up. Didn't think much of it. Well long story short, the longer you ride the harder it is to start. I checked the battery it tests good, however with it running I'm getting 12.5v at idle and around 12.7 at 3000 rpms. So with that said I believe I have a charging issue that they didn't want to fix. The wife and I rode the other day but had to jump start it after 150 mile ride but it drove home fine, just no battery left. I don't know alot about these systems so if there's any input you all can provide I would greatly appreciate it. I'm a mechanic by trade so I know I can fix it, I just need some guidance on how it all works and any common problems there may be. Thanks In advance!

froche
Motorcycle: 1985 Goldwing Aspencade (GL1200A)
2002 GL1800

Former bikes;
2000 R1100RT
2005 Suzuki Bandit
1979 Yamaha XS1100
1978 Yamaha XS1100 Special
1990 Yamaha XV250
1980 Yamaha XV750
1979 Honda CB750
1968 Triumph Bonneville T120
1973 Honda CB450
1968 Harley Davidson Sportster
1974 Honda CB750
1968 Honda CL72

Re: Not charging

Post by froche »

Check the three yellow wires that plug/unplug underneath the battery cover. The general consensus is to eliminate the plug and solder the wires together. Some suggest a new plug (and possibly ends) would fix it for another 30 years and others suggest aftermarket plugs of various sorts.