1200 A no power at switch


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
Post Reply
rflorek1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Lima, Ohio
Motorcycle: 1984 GL 1200A

1200 A no power at switch

Post by rflorek1 »



84 1200 A, sudden loss of power, nothing at instrument cluster, but the clock works,strange. 13 V at solenoid, dog bone good, but no power at red wire at switch. is there a second main fuse that i'm overlooking ??thanks for help.


User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 9101
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1200 A no power at switch

Post by virgilmobile »

There are 2 red wires on the starter solenoid.Both should have power on them.Stab the insulation with a probe to test.One feeds the ignition switch and the other feeds from the regulator.
rflorek1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Lima, Ohio
Motorcycle: 1984 GL 1200A

Re: 1200 A no power at switch

Post by rflorek1 »

12V on both, but nothing at switch, pulling my hair out.
User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 9101
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1200 A no power at switch

Post by virgilmobile »

I'll review the schematic.Back soon.
User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 9101
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1200 A no power at switch

Post by virgilmobile »

Confirmed.All the 1200's use the solid red wire from the solenoid directly to the ignition switch.
Keep in mind,If you have a corroded/loose connection at the solenoid,it may indeed provide enough continuity to light up a test light or operate a volt meter.....that is untill there is a significant load on the circuit.
When you test this wire for volts,test with the key on...always measure voltages when the circuit is trying to operate(loaded).
rflorek1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Lima, Ohio
Motorcycle: 1984 GL 1200A

Re: 1200 A no power at switch

Post by rflorek1 »

With key on there is 12.6 at solenoid red wire and nothing at switch wire before the connector at ign switch. so SOMEWHERE there is a open in the harness. guess i'll be ripping the seats and tank off, unless somebody has a better idea.....thank you all.
User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 9101
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1200 A no power at switch

Post by virgilmobile »

I suppose you could split the harness till you find the break..you could also simply bypass it.Cut it off at each plug(to kill power on the good part) and insert a #12 or #10 wire in its place temporary to test then lace it with the original harness.
Either way you do have to remove stuff to get at it.
It's just very odd that that wire is broken somewhere.Its usually just a corroded connection.
Take pictures and keep us posted please.
rflorek1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Lima, Ohio
Motorcycle: 1984 GL 1200A

Re: 1200 A no power at switch

Post by rflorek1 »

Thank you for all the help, will keep you posted as to what happens, worst case I will burn it to the ground..lol
Ralph


Post Reply