wiring for gear indacator


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Post Reply
User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Winslow,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

wiring for gear indacator

Post by lamasue »



i have a 2000 1500 se i want to put on a gear indicator what wiring do i need from indicator 4 wire ,6 wire i dont think i have to go hall effect



User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21294
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by WingAdmin »

I'm not quite sure I understand what you're asking. There is a gear position switch already in your bike that you can tap into. It connects to ground for neutral, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th gears. If none of those are connected to ground, then the bike is in first gear.

GL1500 Gear position switch
GL1500 Gear position switch


User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Winslow,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by lamasue »

seems like some indicators have 6 wires others have 4 do i want the 4 wire ones im looking for just a digital number display not too expensive

User avatar
ct1500
Posts: 1392
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Glastonbury,CT
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500
Contact:

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by ct1500 »

To prevent damaging something with a concocted device I would suggest you go with this which is plug and play.

http://cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/gl1500_ ... /129/40958
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please click contact
Nothing leaves my shop till its' perfect
This is what I do

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21294
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by WingAdmin »

ct1500 wrote:To prevent damaging something with a concocted device I would suggest you go with this which is plug and play.

http://cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/gl1500_ ... /129/40958
I agree - this switch is connected to both the ECU and cruise computers. Unless you have a fairly good idea of what you're doing with electronics, don't attempt to add something to it. I added protective diodes on mine to isolate the ECU and cruise computer from my device.

User avatar
redial
Posts: 2130
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:17 am
Location: Labrador, Queensland, Australia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by redial »

Yes, but how do the 1988/89 models get on? The link only allows for 1990/2000 models, and is not suitable for the 88/89 models. They may have come as a package of good things, but they forgot about the gear indicators.
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Winslow,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by lamasue »

i dont want somthing that big i just want gear number tell me how i can hook one up if any one knows

User avatar
redial
Posts: 2130
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:17 am
Location: Labrador, Queensland, Australia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by redial »

If you are looking for something simple, have a look at this item on eBay:

361018940981

171110170560


I have not tried it so I do not know if I can recommend it, but it may do the job for a simple and easier fix. The prices seem right.
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

User avatar
Bluewaterhooker0
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 11:27 pm
Location: Tampa, Fl
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing GL 1500 SE
2008 GL1800 with 2018 California Side Car Trike Conversion

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by Bluewaterhooker0 »

I looked into installing a gear indicator on my 97, as well. But had the same concerns as have been mentioned. Any 'amatuer' solution that taps into the built-in gear indicator, runs a risk of messing with the ECU or cruise function. The magnetic device that was posted above has the drawback of counting 'missed' shifts due to the nature of the pickup devices, providing you with inaccurate gear indications. I assume the device sold by Cyclemax would work properly, but it wasn't worth that much to me. So, I remain 'gear indicator-less' for now.

User avatar
Uncle Fester
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bethany, Ok, right off Route 66 !
Motorcycle: 1996 GL-1500 Cali model 'Wing, blue in color, named Ol'Blue

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by Uncle Fester »

Maybe I just do not understand,so can someone explain WHY you would NEED a gear indicator ? I have been riding for 30 years and have never felt the need for a gear indicator. . . to me it sounds like one more TOY that can cause problems down the road. :?:
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.
So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor.
Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore,
Dream,
Discover!

Mark Twain

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21294
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by WingAdmin »

Uncle Fester wrote:Maybe I just do not understand,so can someone explain WHY you would NEED a gear indicator ? I have been riding for 30 years and have never felt the need for a gear indicator. . . to me it sounds like one more TOY that can cause problems down the road. :?:
It's not NEEDED - it's just a convenience item. It's nice to have, just as a double-check occasionally to make sure I'm in the gear I think I am - particularly when at a stop, to make sure I did in fact make it down to first, and aren't accidentally sitting in neutral or second.

User avatar
Uncle Fester
Posts: 1170
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bethany, Ok, right off Route 66 !
Motorcycle: 1996 GL-1500 Cali model 'Wing, blue in color, named Ol'Blue

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by Uncle Fester »

Okay, THAT I can understand. . . never thought about checking your gear while at a stop sign / light . . . .
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.
So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor.
Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore,
Dream,
Discover!

Mark Twain

User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Winslow,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by lamasue »

I like it because if I have to throttle away quickly I'm not a gear too high

User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: Winslow,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by lamasue »

im going with GIPro X-Type Universal with Wheel Speed Sensor says it will work with my bike ill let you know how it works out ill start riding around may

User avatar
agedbikeman
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:41 pm
Location: Bruay la Buissiere, France
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 Aspencade with Insta trike
2014 Can-Am Spyder RT

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by agedbikeman »

Question for wing admin, when you placed ECU protection diodes for the gear indicator, did you do something like this, I bought a cheap 7 seg indicator unit on ebay made for this purpose, each wire from it that's not grounded reads 12.5 volts that will reverse bias the diodes, when a gear is selected the whole line is grounded anyway. Hope the .6v diode loss doesn't upset the cruise control.
I'm taking step by step photos and I'll write an article on it when it's finished and working
Thanks in advance
Alex.





User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21294
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by WingAdmin »

agedbikeman wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 10:45 am
Question for wing admin, when you placed ECU protection diodes for the gear indicator, did you do something like this, I bought a cheap 7 seg indicator unit on ebay made for this purpose, each wire from it that's not grounded reads 12.5 volts that will reverse bias the diodes, when a gear is selected the whole line is grounded anyway. Hope the .6v diode loss doesn't upset the cruise control.
I'm taking step by step photos and I'll write an article on it when it's finished and working
Thanks in advance
Alex.
Hi Alex, no I put the diodes on the wires coming FROM my gear position indicator, to prevent the ~11 volts coming from the ECU from getting to my device. My device by default would measure between +5V and ground, so having 11 volts being applied would cause problems. Instead I used diodes to block incoming voltage from the ECU reaching my device, and then used pull-up resistors to pull the lines up to +5V when they were not grounded by the neutral switch. Having the very small amount of current output at +5V (from the pull-up resistors) applied to the ECU did not cause any issues. If it had, I would have installed diodes like you have shown in your diagram.

Being that your device is putting out 12.5V, I think having those diodes in place as you show is prudent and a good idea.

User avatar
agedbikeman
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:41 pm
Location: Bruay la Buissiere, France
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 Aspencade with Insta trike
2014 Can-Am Spyder RT

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by agedbikeman »

Thanks wing admin, as always very helpful.
Look out for my article on this topic.

User avatar
CrystalPistol
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Shenandoah Valley of Virginia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SE/'98 Lehman Trike

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by CrystalPistol »

redial wrote:
Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:39 pm
but they forgot about the gear indicators.
They didn't forget. They show you neutral, reverse, and OD … 1-4 are just a means to get up speed and into OD, if the light ain't on it's either because you still have it in a lower gear or the bulb's blown.

When I bought my Air-Rider combo volt/gear indicator, "Wife Unit" was thinking she wanted to ride the trike herself and she wanted a gear indicator, I wanted the volt meter myself. That was 2005, I pay no attention to the gear indicator. My 1200 had an OEM indicator, I rarely took notice of it either, but I did add a volt meter.
Make Courtesy your "Code of the Road" …

… & Have a Safe Trip!
:)

User avatar
wezx
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 2:16 am
Location: Munroe Falls, OH - United States
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500A

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by wezx »

I don’t see the plug and play gear indicator on Cyclemax...maybe it’s not being sold anymore? Any updates link(s)?

User avatar
AZgl1800
Posts: 2404
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Lake Oologah Indian Territory USA
Motorcycle: '02 GL1800
2009 Piaggio MP3 250cc

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by AZgl1800 »

wezx wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 8:58 pm
I don’t see the plug and play gear indicator on Cyclemax...maybe it’s not being sold anymore? Any updated link(s)?
CycleMax is unique among Vendors.

They are the ONLY one that I know of, that does Real Time "In Stock" if they have it in their warehouse.

IF, it is not in the warehouse, but they usually sell it, they remove it from the Inventory.
I talked with Gary personally on this. He has his own software directly programmed from the Cash Register.
when an item goes to Zero, it is deleted from the website inventory listing.

just because you can't find it today, does not mean it is out of "print".

call up Gary or Betty and ask if it is still a stockable item?
~John

'02 GL1800
2009 Piaggio MP3 250cc

User avatar
agedbikeman
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:41 pm
Location: Bruay la Buissiere, France
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 Aspencade with Insta trike
2014 Can-Am Spyder RT

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by agedbikeman »

Here it is Wezx
https://www.cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/gi ... ator/60310
cost $119
My one cost less than $20, see my post, "make your own gear indicator"

User avatar
wezx
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 2:16 am
Location: Munroe Falls, OH - United States
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500A

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by wezx »

Alas, I’ve got a 1500...doesn’t look like there is a plug and play for the 1500? No matter, could buy the universal readout and wire it in...

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21294
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by WingAdmin »

agedbikeman wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 6:01 am
Here it is Wezx
https://www.cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/gi ... ator/60310
cost $119
My one cost less than $20, see my post, "make your own gear indicator"
That one is for 1800 only. The company that made the 1500 gear position indicator that Cyclemax used to sell no longer exists, thanks to lawyers and lawsuits.

User avatar
wezx
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 2:16 am
Location: Munroe Falls, OH - United States
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500A

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Post by wezx »

Ah...ok, thanks for the info!



Post Reply