rejetting an 89 gl1500

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
tackwest
Motorcycle: 1989 gl 1500

rejetting an 89 gl1500

Post by tackwest »

so, I have an 89 gl1500 with the off idle hesitation and a mid range bog. I have removed the carbs and cleaned them twice. Both times the carbs were spotless, even after complete disassembly and sonic cleaning. I reassembled them and installed them checking the vacuum hoses as I went. All good, even the one below the rubber pad. Did the idle drop and carb sync as well. No change. The bike only has 26000 mi on it. I am a powersports mechanic by trade, so I am familiar with rejetting and it feels like this bike is very lean. My question is, has anyone replaced the pilot jet with a #60 and main jet with a 158 or 160, and what was the result? I have researched this without hearing about anyone doing this and the clear result. Also, what are the Keihin part # for the main jets? Thank You.

ct1500
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500

Re: rejetting an 89 gl1500

Post by ct1500 »

I can guarantee that when the machine rolled off the showroom floor it ran correctly with the OEM jets. After nearly 30 yrs. of use and untold PO wrenching the jets are suddenly now not the right ones and the reason behind a lean running condition that has developed.

A malfunction most likely in the air jet or shot air systems or improper vacuum line routing or incorrect carb adjustments is more likely the reason for the onset of a lean running condition. All jets can be gotten here.

https://www.jetsrus.com/a_jet_kit_stree ... 8-1991.htm
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please click contact
Nothing leaves my shop till its' perfect
This is what I do

tackwest
Motorcycle: 1989 gl 1500

Post by tackwest »