Resurrecting Grandpa's Wing

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
bigsteveswing
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500I

Resurrecting Grandpa's Wing

Post by bigsteveswing » Tue Jun 12, 2018 3:25 pm

I am new to this forum but have been reading for a while now. I, in a round about way, inherited my Grandpa's '92 Interstate. Saturday I finally got to go pick it up. It has been stored for years in a heated garage, but was very dirty. I can remember when he bought the bike new and it was treated like his baby from that time on until his passing in 2013. I am new to motorcycles but have wanted to get this back on the road for some time now. All I have done to it so far was wash it. I am building my list of to do items now. May take a year for me to have the time and $ to get it where I want it but I am looking forward to it.
Attachments

Just the way it sits, ready for transport

Loaded for the trip
Loaded for the trip

A much needed bath!
A much needed bath!

virgilmobile
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Resurrecting Grandpa's Wing

Post by virgilmobile » Tue Jun 12, 2018 3:51 pm

Good looking bike.
Whatever you do...Please don't try to start it.After setting that long,there's a procedure to restore it and cranking it right up isn't the first thing.Very bad things can happen.
Grandpa was right...baby it.

bigsteveswing

Post by bigsteveswing » Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:02 pm

Thank you! Ya i have a whole list of stuff to do before ever attempting to start it. Timing belts, oil, coolant, filter, fuel tank...the list goes on and on.

TwoTone Trike
Motorcycle: 1999 Honda GoldWing 1500se/2012 Hannigan Trike, 1953 Panhead, 1973 Electra Glide sold

Post by TwoTone Trike » Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:48 am

Man what a beautiful rig. I love that side car. It looks good on there. Glad you have it, but sorry that you had to lose your grandpa to get it.

NOVAwing