96se LCD Display

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
charliep
Motorcycle: 1996 GL 1500 SE

96se LCD Display

Post by charliep »

First of all I want to say thanks to all that participate in this group. I have found a lot of help here in my years of owning my Goldwing.
I know this is an old question and I have searched hi and lo on this site and tried everything that was suggested. I have been working on this for months and I am tired. I have both the electrical and shop manual. I have torn into everything except rebuilding the engine and transmission. I am a retired diesel mechanic and know my way around vehicles.

The problem: not all the time, when I shut of the bike an icon, (direction arrow for cassette) will show <, turn the key on then off and the icon, (direction arrow for cassette, opposite) will come on < >. So, pretty much if you have had this problem and I have seen it written in your posts, every time I turn on the key and then off another, (different Icon will show). So after doing this several times any Icon that has to do with radio or cassette show up.

What I have done, I might have forgotten some things :) Pulled the battery terminal off to reset everything, removed the LCD and cleaned and sealed the circuit board, removed and cleaned 3 plugs on underside of player, replaced a couple of relays that was suggested on here. Tapped relays to see if stuck. I actually didn't see any relays in that part of the system.

My suggested repair because I am tired of chasing this and wanted your opinion is removing red/yellow wire to back up memory C1 and installing a switch between located in left pocket on dash. This wire would come from small plug attached to radio. This way when and if it happens I can just hit the switch momentarily and shut of the screen. I know I will lose my stations etc... but a small price to pay.

If you have any other suggestions they would be greatly appreciated!

Charlie

charliep

Re: 96se LCD Display