Lube Throttle cables?


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Post Reply
User avatar
offcenter
Posts: 707
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:10 pm
Location: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Motorcycle: 99 Gl-1500 SE
76 GL-1000
77 Honda Trail 90

Lube Throttle cables?

Post by offcenter »



Can anyone tell me an easy way to lube the throttle cables on my '99 1500?
Thanks guys.


George in Jersey.
99 Goldwing GL-1500 SE
76 Goldwing Gl-1000
77 Honda CT-90 "Trail 90"

User avatar
thebruce
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:12 pm
Location: Boundary Country, British Columbia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1991 GL1500SE Anniversary Edition #54

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by thebruce »

I literally did this on Thursday amidst a massive front end rebuild.

Loosen the throttle cable adjustment completely.

Remove 2 Phillips screws on bottom of right switch housing.

Remove throttle grip. Clean bar and inside of throttle grip. Add a small amount of lithium grease to inside of throttle grip.

Unscrew both throttle and idle cables from switch housing.

Use a cable lube tool to inject lubricant from the top end of the cables. I used 3-in-1 aerosol as I had it on hand, and it worked like a hot damn.

You will likely make a mess until the cable luber is set just right. You may have to apply pressure to keep it sealed.

My throttle would not return on its own before, and now it snaps back to closed wherever the bars are pointed. Just make sure you don't over tighten the cable adjustment on reassembly.
It doesn't matter what you ride, as long as you have your knees to the breeze.

User avatar
Charlie1Horse
Posts: 560
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:35 pm
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade
1992 GL1500I Interstate

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by Charlie1Horse »

If you have a Cycle Gear store they have a tool called a cable luber that allows you to force a lubricant all the way through the cable for a smooth action. Or you can go to cyclegear.com to order one online. They are about $10.00 - $12.00 and are worth every cent.
Russell

If I don't do Facebook or Twitter do I still have to do Social Media Distancing???
Those who say it cannot be done should try not to interrupt those who are doing it.

User avatar
Viking
Posts: 3642
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD
1987 Harley Softail Custom
1974 Harley FLH (sold)
1965 Harley FLHE (sold)
1957 Harley Chopper (sold)

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by Viking »

Charlie1Horse wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 7:38 pm
If I don't do Facebook or Twitter do I still have to do Social Media Distancing???
No. You will be alright with simple "physical distancing" I would imagine.
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

Image

User avatar
offcenter
Posts: 707
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:10 pm
Location: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Motorcycle: 99 Gl-1500 SE
76 GL-1000
77 Honda Trail 90

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by offcenter »

Thank you guys.
I have the little lube injector tool.
And I have lithium grease.
I was hoping I could get at those cables without
taking the entire housing apart.
It's a '99 and I'm betting that it's never
been lubed since it was new.
It's probably a little overdue! (ya think?)
LOL!!

Thanks again.
George in Jersey.
99 Goldwing GL-1500 SE
76 Goldwing Gl-1000
77 Honda CT-90 "Trail 90"

User avatar
thebruce
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:12 pm
Location: Boundary Country, British Columbia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1991 GL1500SE Anniversary Edition #54

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by thebruce »

If you are the least bit mechanically inclined, it is an easy process.

All you need aside from the cable lube tool and preferred slide enhancement liquid is a phillips driver, 8mm and 10mm open end wrenches, and some rags to divert the mess from your paint.

It will take you 15 minutes the 2nd time you do it. 1st time is always more time consuming.
It doesn't matter what you ride, as long as you have your knees to the breeze.

FM-USA
Posts: 2835
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 8:40 am
Location: here, there, WHY?
Motorcycle: mc's

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by FM-USA »

I don't have a cable lube tool, still was able to get it done.
Removed the cables barrel ends and shoved the red straw, that comes with the spray can lube, into the cable. Ya it leaked a little but wrapping the cable & straw tightly with a little saran wrap slowed the leak. Also wrapped a rag around it to catch the drippings.


.

.
I'm hounded for posting helpful solutions? ARGO!!! (2012 film)
"Let's see how long this round will last."

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21285
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by WingAdmin »

I use one of these: https://www.amazon.com/Motion-Pro-08-01 ... ref=sr_1_3

I start by spraying brake cleaner (my universal solvent) to clean out goo and residual congealed lubricant, then follow this up with dry graphite lubricant. It lubricates extremely well, and doesn't congeal over time, and likely will be the last time you need to lubricate the cables.

pocketchange
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 10:21 pm
Location: Houston, Texas
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by pocketchange »

A GL1500 is at least 20 years old.
New cables are cheap.
Why not just replace them?.. pc :idea:

User avatar
CrystalPistol
Posts: 1396
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Shenandoah Valley of Virginia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SE/'98 Lehman Trike

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by CrystalPistol »

Bought one of the blue & gold bodied cable luber things maybe 25 years ago, used it for my Triumph, the 1200, and the trike. Good little tool. Works on my tiller & Wheelhorse too.
Make Courtesy your "Code of the Road" …

… & Have a Safe Trip!
:)

User avatar
thebruce
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:12 pm
Location: Boundary Country, British Columbia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1991 GL1500SE Anniversary Edition #54

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by thebruce »

pocketchange wrote:
Sun Jun 21, 2020 11:19 am
A GL1500 is at least 20 years old.
New cables are cheap.
Why not just replace them?.. pc :idea:
My wing is close to 30 years old, and has 264,000km on the clock. Granted it had been well kept before I bought it.

Before I lubed the cables the throttle would stick open. It was like cruise control, but redundant as the SE has cruise already.

As they are now I would be willing to bet the throttle pull and return is as good or better than new. I'd also bet the cables will outlast the rest of the bike.

To replace a throttle cable set is going to be much more mechanically involved, costly, and probably unnecessary...

15 minutes with the lubey lube + tool, wrenches and the screwdriver and you will be wondering what the hell you were thinking riding around with a sticky throttle.
Gross 😝.
It doesn't matter what you ride, as long as you have your knees to the breeze.

User avatar
pidjones
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:14 pm
Location: Clinton, Tennessee
Motorcycle: 2006 GL1800A
1978 GL1000 w/'75 engine (project)

Re: Lube Throttle cables?

Post by pidjones »

thebruce wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 9:51 pm
If you are the least bit mechanically inclined, it is an easy process.

All you need aside from the cable lube tool and preferred slide enhancement liquid is a phillips driver, 8mm and 10mm open end wrenches, and some rags to divert the mess from your paint.

It will take you 15 minutes the 2nd time you do it. 1st time is always more time consuming.
There are no Phillips screws on a GoldWing unless they were added aftermarket. The cross-head screws on these bikes are JIS, and use of a JIS screwdriver will prevent damage to them. There are a good variety of JIS screwdrivers available (you need #2 for the control halves). I get MotionPro 1/4" hex drive bits from Amazon that fit my hex drive handles and my electric screwdrivers. To identify a JIS screw, there is a dot between the crosses. Use the correct tool and stop cursing the screws on Japanese bikes! BTW, Ace hardware carries some JIS screws (but not the screwdrivers!)



Post Reply