Loose throttle housing


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Post Reply
User avatar
blupupher
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 5:47 pm
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

Loose throttle housing

Post by blupupher »



So this bike is new to me, but I have noticed that the throttle/control housing is loose on my bike (not the cable, that has been adjusted), but the part that has the start/cruise/kill switch in it.
I even noticed that in WingAdmin's videos his has the same issue. Watch the intro @ 11 seconds, the whole thing moves.


   Never miss a video: Subscribe to the GoldwingDocs YouTube channel today!


Is this just something I need to learn to live with (it really makes low speed maneuvering/throttle control very difficult) or is there a fix for it?
I have not looked closely at the bike yet, but when I saw the video, I knew it was not just mine doing it.


1994 GL1500 Goldwing SE

User avatar
GlimWas
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:31 am
Location: Netherlands
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE Canada Edition, Carbon Candy Blue
2014 NC750X DCT
Contact:

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by GlimWas »

Every 1500 has that 'slack' in the housing, left and right. So yes, you have to learn to live with it..
Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle

GL1100 '80
GL1200 '87
GL1500 '94

User avatar
MikeB
Posts: 3037
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:54 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA
Motorcycle: 1998 - GL1500 Aspencade
183K Miles
2017 - GL1800 Audio Comfort
10K Miles
Contact:

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by MikeB »

GlimWas wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:22 am
Every 1500 has that 'slack' in the housing, left and right. So yes, you have to learn to live with it..
I guess I've been cheated then. None of the three GL1500's I've had were like that.
MikeB
1998 - GL1500 w/184,500 miles ~ 2017 - GL1800 w/13000 miles
USAF Avionics Communications Tech - 18 Years / Flight Engineer C-130E - C-141B - 6 Years. Retired.
Industrial Maintenance Tech - 22 years.
Retired in Tacoma, WA

User avatar
GlimWas
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:31 am
Location: Netherlands
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE Canada Edition, Carbon Candy Blue
2014 NC750X DCT
Contact:

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by GlimWas »

The movement is small, but noticeable when you pay attention ;)
Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle

GL1100 '80
GL1200 '87
GL1500 '94

User avatar
MikeB
Posts: 3037
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:54 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA
Motorcycle: 1998 - GL1500 Aspencade
183K Miles
2017 - GL1800 Audio Comfort
10K Miles
Contact:

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by MikeB »

GlimWas wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:52 am
The movement is small, but noticeable when you pay attention ;)
Perhaps it is on yours, but mine are solidly mounted. No movement at all.
MikeB
1998 - GL1500 w/184,500 miles ~ 2017 - GL1800 w/13000 miles
USAF Avionics Communications Tech - 18 Years / Flight Engineer C-130E - C-141B - 6 Years. Retired.
Industrial Maintenance Tech - 22 years.
Retired in Tacoma, WA

User avatar
4given
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 6:19 pm
Location: danville/PA/
Motorcycle: 1996 honda goldwing aspencade GL1500
Contact:

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by 4given »

I’m with Mike on this one. No play in my throttle.

User avatar
blupupher
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 5:47 pm
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by blupupher »

OK, guess I just need to pull it apart and see what can be done. I can't believe it is something that is on all GL1500's.
It is almost dangerous with the amount of play I have. I can't do slow maneuvers worth a darn, a part of it is I am new to the bike, but a big part is the throttle on and off delay with the slack in it.
Cables were replaces recently, and as mentioned, adjusted correctly so it is not the throttle itself, but the mount for it.
1994 GL1500 Goldwing SE

User avatar
CrystalPistol
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Shenandoah Valley of Virginia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SE/'98 Lehman Trike

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by CrystalPistol »

I can feel a little play, enough to know the plastic housing halves do not grip the steel handlebar like a vise, but I've seen/felt same on others. I never notice it in my riding, I believe there is an index point that prevents rotation. My Brit bikes had alloy housings, they gripped the steel.
Make Courtesy your "Code of the Road" …

… & Have a Safe Trip!
:)

User avatar
Charlie1Horse
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:35 pm
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade
1992 GL1500I Interstate

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by Charlie1Horse »

Put a little double sided Gorilla Tape between the housing and the bar. That should remedy the looseness.
Russell

If I don't do Facebook or Twitter do I still have to do Social Media Distancing????
Those who say it cannot be done should try not to interrupt those who are doing it.

User avatar
thebruce
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:12 pm
Location: Boundary Country, British Columbia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1991 GL1500SE Anniversary Edition #54

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by thebruce »

I might be crazy. I may be way up on the alcohol intake since covid started...

I however seem to recall a plastic dot on the control housing with a matching divot on the handlebars that would positively locate the controls. CrystalPistol mentioned this.

I expect that if the dot were to be ignored and the control housing clamped down in the wrong spot once or twice it would lead to excessive movement and the wiping of the dot off said housing.

+1 for no slop in either hand on the 'wing.
It doesn't matter what you ride, as long as you have your knees to the breeze.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21296
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by WingAdmin »

thebruce wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:10 am
I might be crazy. I may be way up on the alcohol intake since covid started...

I however seem to recall a plastic dot on the control housing with a matching divot on the handlebars that would positively locate the controls. CrystalPistol mentioned this.

I expect that if the dot were to be ignored and the control housing clamped down in the wrong spot once or twice it would lead to excessive movement and the wiping of the dot off said housing.

+1 for no slop in either hand on the 'wing.
Image

It's not plastic, it's a little metal piece with a raised dot that fits into the throttle control. The dot fits into a depression in the handlebar, to prevent the throttle control from rotating around the bar.

If someone put the throttle on without it being properly lined up and then cranked it tight, it will damage the little dot, making it loose like is shown in the beginning of my video intro. I since replaced mine, but I haven't made a new intro video, so people comment on that all the time!

If you can't source a replacement part, as someone else mentioned, a piece of double sided tape will serve the same function.

User avatar
MikeB
Posts: 3037
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:54 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA
Motorcycle: 1998 - GL1500 Aspencade
183K Miles
2017 - GL1800 Audio Comfort
10K Miles
Contact:

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by MikeB »

WingAdmin wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:58 pm
thebruce wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:10 am
I might be crazy. I may be way up on the alcohol intake since covid started...

I however seem to recall a plastic dot on the control housing with a matching divot on the handlebars that would positively locate the controls. CrystalPistol mentioned this.

I expect that if the dot were to be ignored and the control housing clamped down in the wrong spot once or twice it would lead to excessive movement and the wiping of the dot off said housing.

+1 for no slop in either hand on the 'wing.
It's not plastic, it's a little metal piece with a raised dot that fits into the throttle control. The dot fits into a depression in the handlebar, to prevent the throttle control from rotating around the bar.

If someone put the throttle on without it being properly lined up and then cranked it tight, it will damage the little dot, making it loose like is shown in the beginning of my video intro. I since replaced mine, but I haven't made a new intro video, so people comment on that all the time!

If you can't source a replacement part, as someone else mentioned, a piece of double sided tape will serve the same function.
Thanks for the clarification. I knew you would have the answer.
MikeB
1998 - GL1500 w/184,500 miles ~ 2017 - GL1800 w/13000 miles
USAF Avionics Communications Tech - 18 Years / Flight Engineer C-130E - C-141B - 6 Years. Retired.
Industrial Maintenance Tech - 22 years.
Retired in Tacoma, WA

User avatar
ct1500
Posts: 1393
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Glastonbury,CT
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500
Contact:

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by ct1500 »

blupupher wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:25 pm
I can't do slow maneuvers worth a darn, a part of it is I am new to the bike, but a big part is the throttle on and off delay with the slack in it.
Applying some foot brake during slow maneuvers helps a lot.
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please click contact
Nothing leaves my shop till its' perfect
This is what I do

User avatar
blupupher
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 5:47 pm
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by blupupher »

ct1500 wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 3:08 pm
Applying some foot brake during slow maneuvers helps a lot.
Not with a sloppy throttle.
I can ride my 1100 Shadow @ 1mph in a figure 8, do a u-turn in 2 parking spaces and all kinds of low speed manuvers (well aware of how to ride with the rear brake and in the friction zone), but with the throttle as is now on the Wing, a small 1mm needed adjustment turns into a 5 mm each way adjustment, and is very herky jerkey.
I will pull it apart in the next few days and look see if the "dot" is intact. If not, I will figure something out.
1994 GL1500 Goldwing SE

User avatar
CrystalPistol
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Shenandoah Valley of Virginia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SE/'98 Lehman Trike

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by CrystalPistol »

You might make it better, but if not …. I've seen a lot of drill team riders riding them stock, no issues. Adapt & overcome.
Make Courtesy your "Code of the Road" …

… & Have a Safe Trip!
:)

User avatar
blupupher
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 5:47 pm
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by blupupher »

So took it apart today and fixed it.


The metal mount itself was fine, the little nub (in blue circle) fit perfectly into the hole in the handlebar and had no play. The issue was when mounted in the plastic housing, it was loose. I bent the tabs in a bit and it helped a little, but the big issue was when mounted, the metal piece was too low for the nub to completely seat, so there was play.
I took a little piece of tin to shim it under both sides (circled in red) and reinstalled. Now have barely a mm of movement in the throttle housing. Throttle control is much improved and I don’t feel like a newb riding at low speed now. Still have more off throttle slack than I like, but I can deal with it now.

Now off to adjust the cruise control engagement.
Also need to decide on what to do with my Tulsa tall windshield. Bars hit it on full then, even with the bars all the way back. Deciding if I want to cut it (both for bar clearance and height) or buy a new shield.
1994 GL1500 Goldwing SE

User avatar
thebruce
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:12 pm
Location: Boundary Country, British Columbia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1991 GL1500SE Anniversary Edition #54

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by thebruce »

Good show.

Since posting in this thread earlier I have been acutely aware of the mm or so of slop in my right throttle housing. Left is solid. Neither bothers me.

Adjustment of throttle/idle cables can eliminate a lot of the residual slop. The idle cable (push) has a spring on it (i think) so there will always be a little play in the grip at idle.

The method I would use to adjust for minimum slop would be to:

1: loosen both cables so there is a lot of slop.

2: take the slop out of the throttle cable until there is an audible click when the throttle is snapped open. This will be the maximum range of throttle opening, and there is no point going past this point. Don't go much past the click.

Using this procedure you may flood the motor, but if you don't return the throttle to closed every time you snap it open the accelerator pump won't dump as much fuel.

You have to listen closely as there is a lot of plastic between you and the carbs.

3: take slack out of idle cable until the throttle feels right AND snaps closed with bars at full right and left turn. Turned one way the throttle will have more slop, the other, less.

Add to that procedure a good cable/throttle grip lubing and i would bet a case of beer that the throttle feel is as good or better than new.
It doesn't matter what you ride, as long as you have your knees to the breeze.

User avatar
captdecker
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:39 am
Location: Prescott, Az
Motorcycle: 89 Gl1500
2006 GL1800HPN ABS
Kemp Kamp trailer

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by captdecker »

WingAdmin wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:58 pm
I since replaced mine,
So did you get the replacement part I sent you or another way?

Solo So Long
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:07 pm
Location: Northern Nevada
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500
1983 GW Interstate (ready to repair)
A pack of Super Cubs
Formerly (in order):
Honda Super Cub (bought 1968, sold ?)
Kawasaki Coyote (early 1970s)
Honda 350 (mid 1970s)
Kawasaki KZ900-PS (1977)
Honda Super Cubs (various years)
Kawasaki KZ1000C (1978)
Kawasaki KZ1000P (various years, 1980 - 2005)
Honda 360 (1983)
BMW R1150RT-P (2001)
BMW R1200RT-P (various years 2007 - 2018, NEVER AGAIN)

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by Solo So Long »

Double-sided tape ages, then turns into goo that must be cleaned off the next time.

For things like this, I put a small dab of Shoe-Goo in an appropriate spot, and make a note in the service record that I did so (for when I have to disassemble it again). Works beautifully.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21296
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by WingAdmin »

captdecker wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 3:00 pm
WingAdmin wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:58 pm
I since replaced mine,
So did you get the replacement part I sent you or another way?
It was with the part you sent me, thanks so much! :)

User avatar
offcenter
Posts: 707
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:10 pm
Location: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Motorcycle: 99 Gl-1500 SE
76 GL-1000
77 Honda Trail 90

Re: Loose throttle housing

Post by offcenter »

Both my left and right housings have that looseness.
Hasn't really bothered me so far.
But when I get around to taking them off, I'll come up
with a fix for it.


George in Jersey.
99 Goldwing GL-1500 SE
76 Goldwing Gl-1000
77 Honda CT-90 "Trail 90"

Post Reply