How to fix your speedo error .


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Post Reply
User avatar
wingdings
Posts: 492
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:48 pm
Location: mells , England, United Kingdom
Motorcycle: Honda Goldwing gl 1989

How to fix your speedo error .

Post by wingdings »



Hi - Folks - Does your wings speedo - Give the correct speed or is it out !! - If it is then here is a way of putting your wings speedo back in whack again !! and avoid those costly speeding fines too !! .

SpeedoHealer v4

No matter what sprockets or tire size you use, the SpeedoHealer v4 will deliver precise readings to your meters. Don't let uncalibrated readings ruin your fun and degrade your bike's resale value. Get your fix today!

Introduction

On most motorcycles the factory speedometer error can be as high as 10%. So even a modest gearing change can have the speedometer off by 15%. Changing the sprockets or tires will also result in higher odometer reading, decreasing the bike’s resale value without valid reason. The SpeedoHealer is an affordable, convenient and very simple way to sort these speedo and odo issues. Compatible with all motorcycles, ATVs/UTVs with non cable driven speedometer. Get your fix today – You won’t find any better alternative on the market! The SpeedoHealer is the most popular and most reliable calibrator in the world – acknowledged by thousands of happy customers worldwide.












   Never miss a video: Subscribe to the GoldwingDocs YouTube channel today!


Click on this link - https://www.healtech-electronics.com/pr ... zAjo-V4aBw







Solo So Long
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:07 pm
Location: Northern Nevada
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500
1983 GW Interstate (ready to repair)
A pack of Super Cubs
Formerly (in order):
Honda Super Cub (bought 1968, sold ?)
Kawasaki Coyote (early 1970s)
Honda 350 (mid 1970s)
Kawasaki KZ900-PS (1977)
Honda Super Cubs (various years)
Kawasaki KZ1000C (1978)
Kawasaki KZ1000P (various years, 1980 - 2005)
Honda 360 (1983)
BMW R1150RT-P (2001)
BMW R1200RT-P (various years 2007 - 2018, NEVER AGAIN)

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by Solo So Long »

This would be a solution for Darksiders with tires of a different rolling radius than factory spec.

Remember that ROLLING radius is not the same as TIRE radius. Rolling radius is the distance from the center of the axle straight down to the ground, and is affected by tire loading. Being able to adjust your speedo to match this could be useful.

User avatar
blupupher
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 5:47 pm
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by blupupher »

The speedo on the GL1500 is driven off the front wheel.
Changing the diameter of the rear wheel will not affect the speedo reading.
1994 GL1500 Goldwing SE

User avatar
wingdings
Posts: 492
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:48 pm
Location: mells , England, United Kingdom
Motorcycle: Honda Goldwing gl 1989

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by wingdings »

If you go look on KING WING - Facebook - People are now putting car tyres on the front wheels aswell ..

User avatar
blupupher
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 5:47 pm
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by blupupher »

wingdings wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 1:13 pm
If you go look on KING WING - Facebook - People are now putting car tyres on the front wheels aswell ..
I have never seen nor heard of anyone putting a car tire on the front of a 2 wheel motorcycle.
There is a thing called "double darkside" which is a car tire on the rear and a rear motorcycle tire on the front.
Not sure if that is what you are referring too or not.
I don't know what king wing is and don't do facebook, so no idea.
1994 GL1500 Goldwing SE

User avatar
dingdong
Posts: 3985
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:35 am
Location: Oklahoma City
Motorcycle: 1976 gl1000
1993 gl1500A
2004 NRX1800 Rune SOLD

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by dingdong »

I know my speedo is off 2mph at 70mph. Actual speed is 68mph. Not worried at all. The problem is solved by my phone gps. Cost: $00.00

User avatar
ct1500
Posts: 1427
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Glastonbury,CT
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500
Contact:

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by ct1500 »

wingdings wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 12:12 pm
Hi - Folks - Does your wings speedo - Give the correct speed or is it out !! - If it is then here is a way of putting your wings speedo back in whack again Compatible with all motorcycles, ATVs/UTVs with non cable driven speedometer.
The 1500 has a cable driven speedo so no go here.
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please click contact
Nothing leaves my shop till its' perfect
This is what I do

User avatar
Andy Cote
Posts: 467
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:38 am
Location: Windham, ME
Motorcycle: 2015 Goldwing, basic black

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by Andy Cote »

On my GL1500 with front wheel cable driven speedometer, the reading was about 3.5 to 5 mph higher than the GPS reading when cruising on the Interstate (65-70 mph). When I switched the front tire to the Bridgestone Battleax (double darkside), it came in very close. The Battleax had much deeper tread than the normal tire and as it reached end of life, the error returned, but that took a long time to get there. :D

The speedohealer and its competitors are used fairly often on the early GL1800 as they are also known to suffer from high reading speedometers. The latter GL1800 (2012 and follow) are very close in stock condition. Darkside rear rarely has a substantial change in outside diameter of the tire.

Wingsconsin had more info about speedometer healers in his posts regarding the Henry Final Drive. viewtopic.php?f=7&t=60064
2015 Goldwing, basic black

Previously: GL1200 standard, GL1200 Interstate, GL1500 Goldwing, GL1500 Valkyrie Standard, 2000 Valkyrie Interstate, many other Hondas

User avatar
bellboy40
Posts: 781
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:13 pm
Location: Brewton, AL
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500SE Candy Spectra Red

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by bellboy40 »

The speedometer on my GL1500 is the most accurate speedometer I had ever had on a motorcycle. It is pretty much dead on with my GPS speeds.

User avatar
Rednaxs60
Posts: 2396
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 LTD
1995 GL1500 SE CDN Edition
2012 Suzuki DL1000 VStrom
2008 GL1800 (sold)
Ontario 1985 GL1200 LTD (sold)

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by Rednaxs60 »

My 1200 and 1500 are quite accurate. My V-Strom was out 10 KPH, installed the speedhealer, works a treat.
"When you write the story of your life, don't let anyone else hold the pen"

Ernest

User avatar
DenverWinger
Posts: 1596
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:20 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Motorcycle: (s)
1980 GL1100 STD Vetter (2005-)
1993 GL1500 Aspencade (2017-)
1983 Trav-Lite Camper (2010-)
Past rides
1972 CL350 (1980-1988) sold
1978 Suzuki GS550 (1985-2005) sold
1977 GL1000 (2002-2006) sold

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by DenverWinger »

I don't use a GPS, but what I can tell by passing those roadside radars you see near construction sites or elsewhere on the freeways and city streets both my 1100 and 1500 Speedo's are spot-on. :)
♫ 99 Little Bugs in the Code, ♪
♪ 99 Bugs in the Code. ♫ :(
♫ Take one down, Patch it around, ♪
♫ 127 Little Bugs in the Code. ♫ ♪ :shock:

~Mark

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21504
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by WingAdmin »

wingdings wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 12:12 pm
Hi - Folks - Does your wings speedo - Give the correct speed or is it out !! - If it is then here is a way of putting your wings speedo back in whack again !! and avoid those costly speeding fines too !! .

SpeedoHealer v4
This won't work on GL1500's. They have a mechanical, cable-driven speedometer. You can't fix it with an electronic device like this.

Solo So Long
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:07 pm
Location: Northern Nevada
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500
1983 GW Interstate (ready to repair)
A pack of Super Cubs
Formerly (in order):
Honda Super Cub (bought 1968, sold ?)
Kawasaki Coyote (early 1970s)
Honda 350 (mid 1970s)
Kawasaki KZ900-PS (1977)
Honda Super Cubs (various years)
Kawasaki KZ1000C (1978)
Kawasaki KZ1000P (various years, 1980 - 2005)
Honda 360 (1983)
BMW R1150RT-P (2001)
BMW R1200RT-P (various years 2007 - 2018, NEVER AGAIN)

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by Solo So Long »

blupupher wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 1:07 pm
The speedo on the GL1500 is driven off the front wheel.
Changing the diameter of the rear wheel will not affect the speedo reading.
No, but Darksiding on the front will, and some folks here were talking about doing just that.

But I guess all of the GL1500s were mechanical (not jsut the early ones like mine).

User avatar
joeincalif
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:39 am
Location: Fresno, Ca
Motorcycle: 1997 Gold Wing SE

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by joeincalif »

Most read faster than you are actually going. the first post is by a manufacturer trying to sell you something. I solved the speed error on my 08 wing by putting a 70 series tire on the back, Easy fix and it solved the speedo and odometer problem
Image
IF YOUR BORN ONCE YOU WILL DIE TWICE
IF YOUR BORN TWICE YOU WILL DIE ONCE

User avatar
Elmobile
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 8:35 pm
Location: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1990 GL1500SE

Re: How to fix your speedo error .

Post by Elmobile »

This "Speedo Healer" worked magic on my DL650, Vstrom... But I have changed the sprocket from 15 to 14 teeth to have better response on gravel road. This is where the speed sensor is located. I used my GPS to adjust it and now my odometer is accurate!
So they do have their place in the proper application.
However it won't help on our GL1500...



Post Reply