GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Post Reply
Swayze
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:24 pm
Location: CNP, Alberta, Canada
Motorcycle: 1991 gl1500 interstate

GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes

Post by Swayze »



Hi all. I bought my first goldwing last summer. It's a 91 interstate. Serial #000001. Anyway I found when riding if I came to a stop it would sometimes idle high ( around 2000 rpm ). But only sometimes. I would guess around 25% of the time. Bike runs perfect otherwise. Any ideas? Thanks.


User avatar
offcenter
Posts: 784
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:10 pm
Location: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Motorcycle: 99 Gl-1500 SE
76 GL-1000
77 Honda Trail 90

Re: GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes

Post by offcenter »

Mine would do that "occasionally", when the outside temps were below 40 degrees.
Never does it in warm weather.
Damned if I know what causes it.
But since I rarely ride when temps are below 40, it hasn't really been
a problem.
George in Jersey.
99 Goldwing GL-1500 SE
76 Goldwing Gl-1000
77 Honda CT-90 "Trail 90"
User avatar
MikeB
Posts: 3222
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:54 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA
Motorcycle: 1998 - GL1500 Aspencade
184K Miles
2017 - GL1800 Audio Comfort
14K Miles
Contact:

Re: GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes

Post by MikeB »

My first thought is that you have an intermittent vacuum leak. Cracked and deteriorating vacuum hoses could be the cause.
MikeB
1998 - GL1500 w/184,500 miles ~ 2017 - GL1800 w/13000 miles
USAF Avionics Communications Tech - 1968 - 1986 / Flight Engineer C-130E - C-141B - 1986 - 1992. Retired
Industrial Maintenance Tech - 1992 - 2014
Retired in Tacoma, WA
Swayze
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:24 pm
Location: CNP, Alberta, Canada
Motorcycle: 1991 gl1500 interstate

Re: GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes

Post by Swayze »

Ok I will look for that. Thanks
User avatar
ct1500
Posts: 1464
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Glastonbury,CT
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500
Contact:

Re: GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes

Post by ct1500 »

Swayze wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:32 pm Hi all. I bought my first goldwing last summer. It's a 91 interstate. Serial #000001. Anyway I found when riding if I came to a stop it would sometimes idle high ( around 2000 rpm ). But only sometimes. I would guess around 25% of the time. Bike runs perfect otherwise. Any ideas? Thanks.
Absent a binding throttle cable and to a lesser extent enrichment cable the most likely cause would be from a carb sync problem where it was adjusted compensating for a carb problem.
If I had a dollar for every poster who said "other than this problem it runs great" I would be comfortably retired. :) When an engine does not run right there is always a shortfall.
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please click contact
Nothing leaves my shop till its' perfect
This is what I do
Swayze
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:24 pm
Location: CNP, Alberta, Canada
Motorcycle: 1991 gl1500 interstate

Re: GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes

Post by Swayze »

Can I get to all the vacum lines by removing the top plastic and air filter? Thanks
User avatar
bellboy40
Posts: 807
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:13 pm
Location: Brewton, AL
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500SE Candy Spectra Red

Re: GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes

Post by bellboy40 »

No. There are some under the air filter housing, some under the carbs and some more under the rubber mat below the carbs.
Swayze
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:24 pm
Location: CNP, Alberta, Canada
Motorcycle: 1991 gl1500 interstate

Re: GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes

Post by Swayze »

Crap that's not what I wanted to hear
User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 21708
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: GL 1500 has a high idle but only sometimes

Post by WingAdmin »

The vacuum hose routing is pretty much spaghetti. It's buried, and it's extensive.

Vacuum hose routing
Vacuum hose routing



Post Reply