Timing belts

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Drop a gear
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500A Aspencade
2003 Harley Road King
2012 Yamaha V STAR 950
2014 Harley Ultra Limited

Timing belts

Post by Drop a gear »

Ok so I’m a novice with the GW’s. So far, over the winter, I’ve swapped out the air filter, installed a voltmeter/battery tender, installed a 12v outlet in the cubby, sprayed all the the faded crap-brown vinyl a nice black, replaced the speakers, installed Ciro wireless charger for iPhone, (still can’t find where the darn cruise filter goes but I have it). I’m planning oil change next weekend.
I’ve done much more involved mods on my Harleys including full exhaust, big sucker air cleaner, trunk detach kit, wired in a new kick ass horn, added a ton of LEDs to light me up and I do my own 3-hole oil changes. BUT, I will never mess with the engines. I consider that out of my league.
Now we can all agree that the GL1500 clearly needs timing belts replaced as our Wing Father keeps warning us.
I found the only shop out of 5 that would even consider touching my ‘95 GW and they are quoting me 8-10hrs @ $65/hr for timing belts…no mention that they were including coolant or spark plugs either.
I’ve read the detailed DIY article here by the Wing King (the name I’ve bestowed) twice. Realistically, how long would it take a NOVICE GW guy to replace the belts….and I have the coolant, spark plugs too.
So wise men, how long for a **** like me, following the guide step by step on my iPad, to do the swap? I have the supplies and tools but not the confidence. So far, every job I’ve done has taken on twice as long as expected. Should I even attempt it or give up and arm and a leg to the shop guys? Thanks for any advice

WingNoob
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SE
2007 KLR650

Re: Timing belts

Post by WingNoob »