New Buyer Concerns

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
JFootman02
Motorcycle: 2003 GL1800

New Buyer Concerns

Post by JFootman02 »

In need of some expert advice, please. Looking at a '99 GL1500 SE with 40k mi on the odometer. The obvious issue is a cracked fairing by the left knee that appears secondary to laying it down although there're no scratches on the plastic so I assume it was at a standstill. More concerning are a few quirks but being new to the Goldwings not to mention my perspective was drastically skewed when comparing my '83 Yamaha Venture & I definitely fell in love with the Goldwings!

First off I expected a "purr" from the engine but it wasn't as smooth & quiet as I expected. Full choke to start but just seemed ever so slightly rough even once the choke was off. I rode it for about 20 minutes and it didn't settle out after riding. My first thought is carbs but I'm no mechanic (although I've turned a bunch of wrenches on the Venture!).

The next concern was an ever so subtle "vibration" in the pegs while riding that seemed to alternate between the left and right pegs (occasionally both). It was very subtle but was intermittent and typically only occurred when coasting. Once I gave it some gas it dissipated. It initially seemed to be influenced by any lean including corners but would occur on straightaways as well. Appeared to occur in multiple gears and speeds. Seller could not recall feeling this "sensation". First thought here was bearings but again, I'm relying on y'all to point me in the right direction.