Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Post Reply
zivke
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2022 9:39 pm
Location: Rowlesburg
Motorcycle: GL1500
Contact:

Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by zivke »



Ive recently been gifted a 92 interstate from my inlaws and I would like to install a cb on it similar to the factory unit. Im wondering what is involved with installing the factory system. Do I need to change the radio head unit or is there provisions for running the side unit and handlebar unit already there? Tia.


User avatar
Rambozo
Posts: 3698
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: Disneyland
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade
Ducati Monster

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by Rambozo »

Which radio do you have?
You might have to swap to the Aspencade radio to use the factory CB.
Solo So Long
Posts: 583
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:07 pm
Location: Northern Nevada
Motorcycle: 1999 GL1500 50th Anniversary SE
1989 GL1500 FOR SALE
A pack of Super Cubs
Z50A (pre-headlight)
Formerly (in order):
Honda Super Cub (bought 1968, sold ?)
Kawasaki Coyote (early 1970s)
Honda 350 (mid 1970s)
Kawasaki KZ900-PS (1977)
Honda Super Cubs (various years)
Kawasaki KZ1000C (1978)
Kawasaki KZ1000P (various years, 1980 - 2005)
Honda 360 (1983)
BMW R1150RT-P (2001)
BMW R1200RT-P (various years 2007 - 2018, NEVER AGAIN)

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by Solo So Long »

How much use do you plan to give a CB? There's a significant amount of work involved in installing the factory unit.

You might be better off just to buy a cheap generic one.
User avatar
Charlie1Horse
Posts: 777
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:35 pm
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade
1992 GL1500I Interstate

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by Charlie1Horse »

Rambozo wrote: Sun May 01, 2022 5:13 am Which radio do you have?
You might have to swap to the Aspencade radio to use the factory CB.
You can't do that if you want to use the radio as well because the Aspencade radio uses the digital display in the instrument panel and the Interstate has it's display on the radio itself. The Interstate doesn't have the digital display in the instrument panel. So, even if it worked you would not know what station you are listening to and no clock. I would keep watching ebay for the CB and everything to hook it up like, antenna, wiring and PTT switch for the left handlebar. It may take a little time to find but I would be patient.
Russell
Those who say it cannot be done should try not to interrupt those who are doing it.
User avatar
Rambozo
Posts: 3698
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: Disneyland
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade
Ducati Monster

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by Rambozo »

Was there a special factory CB for the Interstate? Or does the Interstate radio have the same plugs and use the same unit as the Aspey and SE?
I've never seen one on an Interstate, only on Aspeys and SEs.
Interstates are pretty rare as it is if it's a different CB, I would think an aftermarket CB is probably the way to go.
User avatar
baba67
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 8:16 am
Location: Cape Cod, MA.
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200 Aspencade
1997 GL1500 SE W/ Voyager trike kit

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by baba67 »

The factory CB does not use the radio display on the GL1500.
The CB unit has it's own display on the unit.
I would remove the L/S tupper ware and see if the harness's are pre installed.
My 86 GL1200 was pre wired when I installed the CB, It was plug and play.
Doe your bike have any antennas?
Being able to use your intercom system thru your radio and headsets is the selling point of the factory system.




https://capecod.craigslist.org/mpo/d/19 ... 17471.html
GrapeVine
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 1:07 am
Location: Clifton Heights, United States
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500I Interstate

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by GrapeVine »

My '93 Interstate came with factory CB. As I only use Bluetooth in my helmet, I have not yet used it to its full capability. I know it works as a passive receiver through the speakers. Getting it fully in play for me is low $$ priority. But I did replace the CB antenna because previous owner broke it in half when he forgot to fold it at a low garage. I couldn't stand the unbalanced look of my otherwise regal looking Wing.
User avatar
Rambozo
Posts: 3698
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: Disneyland
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade
Ducati Monster

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by Rambozo »

GrapeVine wrote: Sat May 14, 2022 4:46 pm My '93 Interstate came with factory CB. As I only use Bluetooth in my helmet, I have not yet used it to its full capability. I know it works as a passive receiver through the speakers. Getting it fully in play for me is low $$ priority. But I did replace the CB antenna because previous owner broke it in half when he forgot to fold it at a low garage. I couldn't stand the unbalanced look of my otherwise regal looking Wing.
Did it look the same as the one in the photo above from an Aspencade or SE?
GrapeVine
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 1:07 am
Location: Clifton Heights, United States
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500I Interstate

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by GrapeVine »

It sure did. I once read that the audio wiring harnesses for 1500s were set for full systems connectivity. It was just a matter of options choice and model selection that dictated what hardware was installed to take advantage of the wiring done fully, i.e. CB system only worked when the transceiver black box and antenna was purchased, but the wiring for power and audio was already a part of the GoldWings' audio infrastructure. Some other system examples include the ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT yellow fairing reflector having a plug system to enable an upgrade to running / flashing turn signals.
I also know that my unoccupied rear speaker housings have speaker wires running to them. WRT the CB handlebar control unit, it was already there. I don't know if adding one is a direct plug and play benefit.
User avatar
Rambozo
Posts: 3698
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: Disneyland
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade
Ducati Monster

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by Rambozo »

Interesting. Do you have the Kenwood or the Panasonic radio?
User avatar
baba67
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 8:16 am
Location: Cape Cod, MA.
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200 Aspencade
1997 GL1500 SE W/ Voyager trike kit

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by baba67 »

If i may ad,
I personally love having the functionality of the radio/CB thru our headsets. (we seldom use the outside speakers)
My 1200 initially had a aftermarket system with a hand held mike and I hated it.
I found a NOS original system which I installed and it all worked flawlessly and SAFELY.
My 97 GL1500 factory system is even better, all at the touch of one button.
Turn it on, select channel, set squelch if needed and ride.
User avatar
baba67
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 8:16 am
Location: Cape Cod, MA.
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200 Aspencade
1997 GL1500 SE W/ Voyager trike kit

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by baba67 »

I forgot to ad that CB channel selection is controlled by the handle bar switch, and can be changed on the fly.
If you travel with a group, CB is a blessing for communication. IE... bathroom break, motorcycle problem, route change, or just having multiple conversations to pass time.
User avatar
MikeB
Posts: 4055
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:54 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA
Motorcycle: 1998 - GL1500 Aspencade
199K Miles
2017 - GL1800 Audio Comfort
36K Miles
Contact:

Re: Installing a CB on a 1992 GL1500 Interstate.

Post by MikeB »

zivke wrote: Sat Apr 30, 2022 9:43 pm Ive recently been gifted a 92 interstate from my inlaws and I would like to install a cb on it similar to the factory unit. Im wondering what is involved with installing the factory system. Do I need to change the radio head unit or is there provisions for running the side unit and handlebar unit already there? Tia.
If and when you decide to add the CB, the most difficult part to find will be the wire harness between the CB radio and the AM/FM radio.
However, I have found a couple on Ebay recently.
This is one: https://www.ebay.com/itm/363837245203?h ... SwDQhiffz3
And this is the other: https://www.ebay.com/itm/384788969619?h ... SwFDliNieb
These parts are very scarce since Honda has not made them in well over 20 years.

Here is a real find for you: https://www.ebay.com/itm/334399702949?h ... Sw-ZtiU5Vf
This is the radio and the harness together for $65 out of Anaheim, CA. And it appears to be free 4 day shipping.

Just about every thing else is on Ebay in abundance but it will take time to find them. It will be up to you to find all the parts.


MikeB
1998 - GL1500 w/195,500 miles ~ 2017 - GL1800 w/32,000 miles
USAF Avionics Communications Tech - 1968 - 1986 / Flight Engineer C-130E - C-141B - 1986 - 1992. Retired
Industrial Maintenance Tech - 1992 - 2014
Retired in Tacoma, WA
Post Reply