Buying a 1998 SE

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Hearn660
Motorcycle: 1998 GL 1500

Buying a 1998 SE

Post by Hearn660 »

I am a newbie to the Goldwing family. I have always admired them from a far. I am about to purchase a 1998 SE. the seller tells me that the rear brake is hydraulic. I thought I knew what that meant. I thought it meant that it was a closed system and should act according to that methodology. Meaning that the brakes should not need to be pumped up or worked to work properly. I went to look at it this past weekend and he gave me the opportunity to ride it. He told me to pump or depress the rear brake pedal while riding it and it would eventually get enough pressure. I am curious if this is a normal occurrence on these older GW’s or should I be concerned? I did not see any leaks after the quick ride. The rear brakes sounds like they were not metal on metal but they sounded louder than I expected. I am some what mechanically inclined as I have owned a couple of crotch rockets back in my younger day.

Also it’s a 1998 SE with 14,000 miles on it and he is asking 4500 dollars from what I have seen on FB marketplace and CL with that milage I believe it’s a solid buy but just curious. Please help a newbie out if ya can. I love the 1500 as it was the coolest thing rolling through the small town I grew in at night with all the lights slipping through town like gohsts….. so cool! Thank you!

Rambozo
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade
Ducati Monster

Re: Buying a 1998 SE

Post by Rambozo »

The rear brake should not require pumping. The brake most likely needs bleeding or it might need other repair. It is a linked brake system with the rear pedal operating one front caliper as well as the rear. You can search here for bleeding procedures or check the service manual. Noise in the brakes is usually bad news.