Relay Trouble ??

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
todehnal
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500A Aspencade

Relay Trouble ??

Post by todehnal »

First, I am hopeful that Scott will see this. Scott, we have the same ride. I've been riding Wings for 30 years now. Starting with a slightly used 1988 GL1500 and many miles. I then moved to a 2009 GL1800, which I only had for 1 season. My wife was not as happy with the ride as a passenger, and since I had passed my 88 on to my son, I went in search of another GL1500. I was fortunate enough to find a 2000 GL1500 with only 7K miles on it and it has been my pride ride. No doubt, the GL1500 is the Cadillac of motorcycles, and yes, the 2000 model is greatly improved over the original 1988 model. Scott, your posts, videos, and how to guides are fantastic and greatly appreciated. They are well done and have added greatly to my years of Goldwing pleasure.

I'm seeing an intermittent electrical problem that has just started. Occasionally when I turn on the ignition, the display is blank, and the radio is inop, as well as the intercom. The bike still starts and runs fine, even with these missing functions. I have found that by turning the ignition "on and off" several times, I can get the display and audio functions back, and everything works fine. I suspect that eventually, repeated ignition switch operations may not be successful in restoring things to normal.

So, does that sound like a relay issue, and if so, do you have any idea as to which one.?? I have not ordered any of the relays that you offer, as I didn't see the need, but it looks like it is time to place an order, Thanks for your help, and I look forward to your reply. Also, I might add that I will appreciate relies from all members, I just find it interesting that our forum administrator finds that a 2000 model GL1500 is as enjoyable as I do.

From a happy Wing rider, Tom

bellboy40
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500SE Candy Spectra Red

Re: Relay Trouble ??