New Battery/alternator - still no start

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
MarcSmith48
Motorcycle: 1996 Goldwing GL1500 Trike (Converted - not factory issue Trike)

New Battery/alternator - still no start

Post by MarcSmith48 »

I inherited at '96 Goldwing GL1500 trike which I'm told is not a factory trike but a bike converted to a trike. It was DOA on arrival. Replaced the battery and it started right up but died after a short ride. Replaced the alternator and it started about 5 times and rode for about 15 miles. Went to start it today and the battery is clearly depleted again. Noticing this switch near the alternator which has been in the OFF position pre/post replacements. Anyone know what it is or any advice broadly on this issue? I'm not a mechanic and finding one in my area is proving tricky.

Thank you for your time.
Attachments

Charlie1Horse
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade
1992 GL1500I Interstate

Re: New Battery/alternator - still no start

Post by Charlie1Horse »

That's obviously a previous owner installed switch and the only way to know what it controls is if you can turn it on/off and see/hear some accessory work. Other than that, is to trace where the wires are routed and to what. It is possible that it is to disable the bike, as some sort of anti theft device. As for the bike quitting, try working the kill switch a few times and spray electronic cleaner into it. That could be the cause. Check the wire connections under the switch to be sure they have not gotten loose and have a bad connection. Let us know what you find when you get it fixed.
Russell
Those who say it cannot be done should try not to interrupt those who are doing it.
Andy Cote
Motorcycle: 2015 Goldwing, basic black

Post by Andy Cote »

Welcome to the forum. Where are you from?