1994 1500SE 131k

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Ffmedic166
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

1994 1500SE 131k

Post by Ffmedic166 »

Before I start, I am new to the goldwing family. Bought one last week and drive from Florida to Texas where I live. It’s in rough shape. The list is long of issues. Surprised I made it home.

No air in the suspension what so ever so the ass end just squatted the whole ride. Very uneasy in corners or even on moderate rough road.

It starts by a screw driver arching the “A” solenoid. And have followed the manual flow chart with great distress, I swear they wrote the damn thing leaving out key things. (I’m a MMI Marine grad) and it’s a bear for even me to read. Wiring is straight forward just too many switches and relays on the start circut.

I’ve jumped ahead midway to the diode pack on the back of the bike because why not….everything kept checking out or seemed good. I will add my neutral light stayed on through all gears and driving….ground issue I suspected and didn’t care so much that it stayed on.

Here is something that has baffled me. I have done diode and continuity check on circuits before and even found bad diodes from previous jobs….but this diode system is completely backwards with the voltage flow. Per the manual it’s saying everyone of my diodes in this is trashed. That’s new to me, typically I would see one or two diodes that went bad in a pack but all of them?

Anyways the motor ran great and got my big ass from Florida back home. So I am hunting down a diode assy, unless I’ve missed something.

Also please don’t answer with have you check your battery connections…that’s like me telling someone that has Poor mpg on bike to make sure you have gas. Lol

Side note: it’s fueled by a aftermarket external eldbrock fuel pump….it’s jerry rigged to hell and back from previous bone head that bought off of.

Rambozo
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade
Ducati Monster

Re: 1994 1500SE 131k

Post by Rambozo »