Speed pulse output - smashed 1500


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Post Reply
Steven UK
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2023 1:59 am
Location: Jackson MN
Motorcycle: GL1500

Speed pulse output - smashed 1500

Post by Steven UK »



Guys
I’m in to process of resuscitating, renovating or rescuing a heavily crashed 1500. The dash was almost completely destroyed but I have some of the parts from within it. I am trying to use the tach and speed dials all be it transplanted into 1100 cans (see photo). I have prepared a microcontroller to drive engine temp, fuel level, voltage, heading and clock. But I would like incorporate a digital speed. I will be using the pulse output of the Speedo so I can keep the cruise control. My question is what does the pulse output of the tach look like…? Square, sine? And the frequency / speed? The digital dash is still in development…

Regards Steven
Attachments












User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 23781
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer
Contact:

Re: Speed pulse output - smashed 1500

Post by WingAdmin »

I've never put a scope on it, but being that it's coming from the ECU, I would assume that you're going to see pulses that are synchronized with one (or all three?) of the coils firing.

Tach Circuit
Tach Circuit

Steven UK
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2023 1:59 am
Location: Jackson MN
Motorcycle: GL1500

Re: Speed pulse output - smashed 1500

Post by Steven UK »

The speedo has a pulse output to stop the cruise control wandering ie it makes the cruise speed a closed loop control. I think the cable input has an optical sensor attached to the base. This is what I am looking to find out… :)
User avatar
Rambozo
Posts: 3600
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: Disneyland
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade
Ducati Monster

Re: Speed pulse output - smashed 1500

Post by Rambozo »

Steven UK wrote: Fri Apr 05, 2024 4:26 pm The speedo has a pulse output to stop the cruise control wandering ie it makes the cruise speed a closed loop control. I think the cable input has an optical sensor attached to the base. This is what I am looking to find out… :)
It depends on the year. The engine speed cruise system was only on later bikes.


Post Reply