Choke Actuator


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
Post Reply
SilverT
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2021 4:31 am
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 2000 GW

Choke Actuator

Post by SilverT »



On my 2000 GL1500 ... if I remove the air filter case, can I see and access the choke actuator cable connection?


User avatar
Rambozo
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: Disneyland
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade
Ducati Monster

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by Rambozo »

SilverT
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2021 4:31 am
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 2000 GW

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by SilverT »

Thanks but I don't want to remove the carbs, I just want to be able to see where the choke actuator connects as my choke has no effect on engine sound or rpms nor does the choke lever offer any resistance ... it simply moves freely. I'm concerned that the cable might be disconnected at the carbs. Is it even possible to see and/or adjust that cable at the carbs without removing the carbs?
User avatar
Snowmoer
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:23 pm
Location: Cedar City UT
Motorcycle: 2012 GL 1800
1977 GL 1000
2012 KLR 650

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by Snowmoer »

Yes, when you remove the air filter housing, you then have access to the choke cable where it attaches to the carbs.
SilverT
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2021 4:31 am
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 2000 GW

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by SilverT »

Thank you for this direct answer to my question!
FM-USA
Posts: 3403
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 8:40 am
Location: Near 60031
Motorcycle: 91-i

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by FM-USA »

If yours was like mine, this is what's happening (below picture).

I'm near 100% positive you'll need to, at least, pull up the carbs. to get to your chokes linkage of both carbs.
One or both is binding up. OR the possibility the cable barrel end popped out.


When I do one thing, I'll sidestep a little & learn many things.
User avatar
gipsy42
Posts: 197
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: Villa Adelina, Bs.As. Argentina
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 A Champion Trike
1993 GL1500 SE sold at 04/2021
1978 GL1000
Contact:

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by gipsy42 »

SilverT:
There is a good posibility that the clamp that holds the end of the cable has becamed loose, therefor is no action to the choke.
You'll be able to see that as soon you pull the air filter case.
Mario
aka Gipsy42
And still riding...
I just regrets the things I haven't done.

http://www.surfcam.com.ar
http://www.cre-angeles.org.ar
FM-USA
Posts: 3403
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 8:40 am
Location: Near 60031
Motorcycle: 91-i

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by FM-USA »

SilverT wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 10:00 pm Thanks but I don't want to remove the carbs, I just want to be able to see where the choke actuator connects as my choke has no effect on engine sound or rpms nor does the choke lever offer any resistance ... it simply moves freely. I'm concerned that the cable might be disconnected at the carbs. Is it even possible to see and/or adjust that cable at the carbs without removing the carbs?
LET US KNOW UPDATE(s).

No need to remove anything attached to the carbs, simply loosen the lower boots & tilt towards the rear.
If they do pop out, it's an easy POP right back. I needed to use my 1.5 ft long tire irons while rocking back & forth.
Of course be careful what part & area you're putting force on.
Just a reminder, put rags in the carbs openings so nothing falls in.

This little wrench might save your day?


When I do one thing, I'll sidestep a little & learn many things.
SilverT
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2021 4:31 am
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 2000 GW

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by SilverT »

What do you mean by "lower boots" ??
FM-USA
Posts: 3403
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 8:40 am
Location: Near 60031
Motorcycle: 91-i

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by FM-USA »

SilverT wrote: Fri May 24, 2024 4:17 pm What do you mean by "lower boots" ??
Under carbs to intake manifolds, called Carb Boots.
I know it's weird since slang word "BOOTS" are usually reserved for tires.
When I do one thing, I'll sidestep a little & learn many things.
SilverT
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2021 4:31 am
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 2000 GW

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by SilverT »

Well I got to the heart of the problem. The choke actuator linkage was stuck on almost full choke. After lots of WD40 (all I had available) and a lot of "wiggling" I was able to free it up and now it works as it should with the choke lever. The carbs did not have to be removed. Also, reconnecting the filter base to that one front right hose seemed to be a nightmare (watched a vid on it) and after several failed attempts I decided to make an "extension" that would be much easier to connect.

pics ...








FM-USA
Posts: 3403
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 8:40 am
Location: Near 60031
Motorcycle: 91-i

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by FM-USA »

Glad to know you fixed it.

As for that DARN top right vacuum hose.
I cut that hose about 1.5 inch below the top (it's now 1.5 inch shorter).
Glued a larger diameter hose (2 inch long, 1 inch of it is glued) then wire twist clamped the short cut off piece on the air cleaner.
I also knife cut tapered that air cleaner hose, a little, to easily go into that larger hose.

Now when I install the air cleaner that hose has larger hole to get into. BUT,...
I also use a long screw driver from inside the air cleaner, through the hose and insert what's sticking out inside the hose below.
No more FEELING & FISHING to connect, it simply drops in after a couple wiggles.
No clamp needed since there's suction in that hose. Also there's a 1/2 inch discrepancy (longer) in that vac hose total length. That's to impart a little physical connection pressure thus aiding the vacuum connection. IF there's ever a back fire in the intake that hose might pop out but since it's a LOUD suction I'll know it came apart, no alarm buzzer needed. ;)

HOO-AHH ! ! !

OH, you did nearly the same as I...


When I do one thing, I'll sidestep a little & learn many things.
SilverT
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2021 4:31 am
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 2000 GW

Re: Choke Actuator

Post by SilverT »

Great minds think alike!!


Post Reply