removing gas tank.


Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-2017)
Post Reply
hbphelan
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Lake Placid, Fl
Motorcycle: 2002 Goldwing gl1800

removing gas tank.

Post by hbphelan »



What is the best way to remove the gas tank from an 02 wing.
hbphelan #203949



User avatar
Steve F
Posts: 505
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:25 pm
Location: Grand Canyon State!
Motorcycle: 1976 Honda CB750F Cafe' (sold :>( )
'03 GL1800
DARKSIDE RIDER

Re: removing gas tank.

Post by Steve F »

I've done it once and don't remember all the details as it was an uneventful task. It just takes a bit of preparation by removing the things in the way and disconnecting and plugging up the disconnected hoses so as not to get gas all over the place. I think the hardest part was wrangling it out from between the frame rails, but it really wasn't that difficult either.
Here's a link to another Goldwing site that has some accounts of some experiences and someone also posted some pictures too...
http://gl1800riders.com/forums/showthre ... nk+removal
Have fun!
I went in there to tighten up the hose clamps for the coolant hoses, so if you're in there for something else, consider doing this too....the older the bike the more likely the hose clamps will need a turn on the screw to snug things back up. Plan on about two hours from start to end.
"To ride is the reason, the destination's the excuse."

User avatar
Ghostman
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:52 am
Location: Midwest
Motorcycle: gl1800

Re: removing gas tank.

Post by Ghostman »


hbphelan
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Lake Placid, Fl
Motorcycle: 2002 Goldwing gl1800

Re: removing gas tank.

Post by hbphelan »

Thanks for the info. I will give it go and let you know how it turns out.
Wish me luck.

jinx
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Mechanics,pa
Motorcycle: 2006 gl1800
2177 gl1800

Re: removing gas tank.

Post by jinx »

If you follow Fred's video don't bother with the lube. it looks messy and it is not necessary .



Post Reply