SpeedoDRD Installed & Dialed In

Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-2017)
JoeHall
Motorcycle: 2008 GL1800

SpeedoDRD Installed & Dialed In

Post by JoeHall »

Today's goal was to install the SpeedoDRD. Before tackling the job, for the past week, I prepared by watching several youtube videos on replacing the air cleaner. Those videos gave step by step info on how to remove the shelter, which was the most difficult preliminary for the SpeedoDRD install. Start to finish, it took about 4 hours, but that included playing around with other stuff while in there, i.e. adjusting the cruise control. If I had focused on just the SpeedoDRD, it could easily have been done in half that time.

The fun part, albeit time consuming, was dialing the SpeedoDRD in afterward. I am not a techie, so first read the instructions and watched the manufacturer's videos several times. Then I wound up riding the bike about 75 miles total, and made 3-4 adjustments along the way, while pulled over on the side of the road. I wound up with a 4.8 percent reduction, to match the speedo and GPS, near as the naked eye could discern. The odometer wound up negative by a little less than 2 percent, i.e. 100 miles indicated is an actual 101.9 miles.

Before the SpeedoDRD, the speedo read high by around 4-5 MPH at road speeds, and the odo read high by 5-6 percent. Per the flash code, the SpeedoDRD was zeroed out, but it reduced the speedo error noticeably and odometer error down to around 3 percent, before I began to dial it in. So the total effect of the SpeedoDRD was actually around 7 percent reduction. I cannot explain the initial effects, but that is what happened.