New Battery

Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-2017)
mterraci
Motorcycle: 2007 Honda Goldwing

New Battery

Post by mterraci »

I'm not a great mechanic by any means; I do change my oil &filter and rear gear oil. Today I managed to change the battery. Not hard at all, but I'm grateful to this forum for all for all of the advice and support. I was able to find enough information to choose a good battery and get it installed without so much as a hitch. Put the Deltran Junior back on it, it's plugged up, fully charged, and ready to go (I always keep it plugged in when in the garage).

I assume I'm going to lose my preset radio stations, etc. Anything else I'm not aware of???

Thanks again to Goldwing Docs for all of the information and support. Makes owning a Goldwing a lot less stressful.

GoldWingrGreg
Motorcycle: 89 GL1500
03 GL1800
04 GL1800(abs)
05 GL1800(abs)
07 GL1800(abs)

Re: New Battery

Post by GoldWingrGreg »

As for pre-sets, every year is a little different regarding what is saved/not-saved. Be sure the battery you installed is a 18amp/hr ... nothing more, nothing less.

Viking
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD
1987 Harley Softail Custom
1974 Harley FLH (sold)
1965 Harley FLHE (sold)
1957 Harley Chopper (sold)

Post by Viking »

Okay, I understand the nothing less than 18 APH, Greg, but why would the nothing "more" than 18 be in question. I have been putting larger amps per hour batteries in vehicles, including motorcycles, my entire life (live in a cold climate in winter). What is so different about a GL1800 that this is not acceptable? Or have I been screwing up my entire life :lol:
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

mterraci
Motorcycle: 2007 Honda Goldwing

Post by mterraci »

The new battery I put in says 20 APH; it also has 400 CCA.

AZgl1800
Motorcycle: '02 GL1800
2009 Piaggio MP3 250cc

Post by AZgl1800 »

themainviking wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:35 am