Newbie here... need a little help.

Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-2017)
Henry262
Motorcycle: 2008 Goldwing

Newbie here... need a little help.

Post by Henry262 »

Hi Everyone,
Hopiing to get some direction on a goldwing. A little backstory... Brother passed away. His kids are grown and live a long distance. In his garage I found a 08 Goldwing that hasn't been used in many years and completely covered in years of dust. Kids have no interest in it at all. I trailered it home and washed it. Removed the old gas and got a new battery. It started and seemed to idle well. This is where I am at. My questions are what should I do from here. Fluids change? Replace brakes? Tires? Lastly I'm having a difficult time removing bugs and road grime from the faring.

Thank you for reading my first post. Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

blupupher
Motorcycle: 2013 BMW K1600GT

Re: Newbie here... need a little help.

Post by blupupher »

Welcome to the forum. Sorry for your loss.

For what you need to do, if tires are older than 5-6 years, they should be replaced soon, even if tread is good.
Brake fluid, clutch fluid, coolant, engine oil, rear drive oil all should be changed. I would change the air filter as well (and will let you check if it has become a nest to any rats/mice).
Brake pads don't need to be changed unless worn.
I would find a good PEA based fuel system cleaner (Techron is one of the most widely available) and run a double dose for 2-3 tanks to make sure the system is cleaned out, even with the old gas gone the lines could have a little debris left over.
Berryman B-12 is a decent alternative that is not a PEA based cleaner.

For the bugs, Try something like Simple Green/Purple Power. Get it wet, spray it down full strength, let it sit and then scrub with a soft cloth or sponge. You will need to wax it after since these products will strip the wax off the paint as well.