Rattling passenger storage pockets

Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-2017)
kforward
Motorcycle: 2008 GL1800, Comfort, Navigation & ABS

Rattling passenger storage pockets

Post by kforward »

Hi All, I am new to Goldwings. I just purchased a 2008 GL1800 with heated grips/seats, GPS, and ABS. I am a tinkerer, and like to fix the things that don't work as they should. I have already got lots of great instructions from this site to help me with several small issues with the bike. However, I was not able to find anything on the rattling of the rear passenger storage pocket doors that are right under the rear speakers. It's not a huge deal, but it's just annoying to hear them rattle every time I go over a bump or rough road when riding through town. Just wondering if anyone had the same issue and how they went about repairing it. I'm thinking it's just worn out door seals, but the hinges seem to be quite loose in the pivoting section. Not sure if that is normal or not.
BTW, I am loving the ride!

Thank you

John K
Motorcycle: 58 MZ BK350
71 Sporty
98 GoldWing SE
04 Wide Glide

Re: Rattling passenger storage pockets

Post by John K »

Our 012 had a rattle back there turned out to be part of the trunk hinge, which is right on top of those cubby holders. Hard to see and find as everything is black, had to compare to other side. Very SMALL piece was broken and missing right at one of the three pan screws that held it on. You could raise the trunk lid up on the broken side at speaker/arm rest area. I replaced which took care of the rattle. Maybe this is what is wrong with yours.
Trunk lid likes to rattle, i was told to put 1/8 inch rubber hose inside of trunck lid seal. Made the trunk lid difficult to close. I was worried about breaking it as it had to be slammed shut. So I removed the hose, maybe a softer hose would have been better.
Take Care
John K
C-dub
Motorcycle: 2016 Goldwing Audio/Comfort/Nav ABS
Previous bikes:
2005 Hayabusa