New sound system. Where to ground amp if battery is too far away?


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
Post Reply
kyleboedeker
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:48 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 Aspencade

New sound system. Where to ground amp if battery is too far away?

Post by kyleboedeker » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:29 pm



Hi all. I'm upgrading my sound system in my new-to-me 88 GL1500A. So far i've installed a new stereo. It already has aftermarket 4" pioneer (look to be pretty cheapo) speakers in all 4 corners, but I'm upgrading the front speakers to Sony 4x6 inchers, I'm adding a 600w amp and running all new speaker wiring. I'm mounting the amp in the trunk. I bought an amp install kit with a 12g power wire and a very short 12g grounding wire. It's way too short to reach the battery. I've also heard the ground wire shouldn't be more than like 2 feet long? So where do I ground the amp then with a 16 inch ground wire? The tail lights? Can I drill through it and try to find the frame somewhere under the trunk? Or, I will probably have several feet of power wire leftover, do I just use that to go straight to the neg battery terminal, even though it's a little longer stretch? Also, I won't need a new alternator with this little amp, right?



User avatar
DenverWinger
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:20 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Motorcycle: (s)
1980 GL1100 STD Vetter (2005-)
1993 GL1500 Aspencade (2017-)
1983 Trav-Lite Camper (2010-)
Past rides
1972 CL350 (1980-1988) sold
1978 Suzuki GS550 (1985-2005) sold
1977 GL1000 (2002-2006) sold

Re: New sound system. Where to ground amp if battery is too far away?

Post by DenverWinger » Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:21 pm

The four bolts holding the trunk to the frame should be a good ground.

I have 400 watt Kenwood amp on mine, I recommend a High Output alternator.... I show good charging voltage even at idle with the stereo moderately loud. I think if you put any volume on a high power stereo, your voltage will be sagging to the discharge side with a stock alternator, especially in stop-go traffic with cooling fans running.....

Remember, an alternator can only put out it's rated current at high revs, at idle revs the maximum it can put out will only be a fraction of it's max rating.
♫ 99 Little Bugs in the Code, ♪
♪ 99 Bugs in the Code. ♫ :(
♫ Take one down, Patch it around, ♪
♫ 127 Little Bugs in the Code. ♫ ♪ :shock:

~Mark

User avatar
AZgl1800
Posts: 1668
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Lake Oologah Indian Territory USA
Motorcycle: '02 GL1800

Re: New sound system. Where to ground amp if battery is too far away?

Post by AZgl1800 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:21 pm

were it me, I would add an additional ground wire from the amp's ground terminal to the battery. a brand new 6 or 8ga copper wire with many fine strands, to reduce the voltage drop to a minimum.

this can only do good things for everything on the bike anyway.
~John

kyleboedeker
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:48 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 Aspencade

Re: New sound system. Where to ground amp if battery is too far away?

Post by kyleboedeker » Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:47 pm

Ok. That's what I will do then. Thank you!

User avatar
AZgl1800
Posts: 1668
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Lake Oologah Indian Territory USA
Motorcycle: '02 GL1800

Re: New sound system. Where to ground amp if battery is too far away?

Post by AZgl1800 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:00 am

kyleboedeker wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:47 pm
Ok. That's what I will do then. Thank you!
automotive audio stores have that kind of wire I am speaking of, the electrical hardware stores don't, theirs is the 7 strand, rigid stuff you don't want. to hard to work with.
~John

kyleboedeker
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:48 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 Aspencade

Re: New sound system. Where to ground amp if battery is too far away?

Post by kyleboedeker » Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:06 am

AZgl1800 wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:00 am
kyleboedeker wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:47 pm
Ok. That's what I will do then. Thank you!
automotive audio stores have that kind of wire I am speaking of, the electrical hardware stores don't, theirs is the 7 strand, rigid stuff you don't want. to hard to work with.
I had a lot of extra power wire left over, so I just used a piece of that and wrapped it in black electrical tape and connected it right to the battery. Seems to work. Thanks!



Post Reply