Adding an air pump


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
Post Reply
tdm1963a
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:15 pm
Location: United States
Motorcycle: 1986 Goldwing 1200 interstate

Adding an air pump

Post by tdm1963a » Tue Mar 24, 2020 7:09 pm



I have an 86 interstate. I found an air pump at the bone yard off an 84 aspencade. I want to install this on the interstate. Is this possible? Is there a seperate wire harness that I need to go and get? or do I just need to wire it into the appropriate fuse slots?

Thanks
Terry



User avatar
CrystalPistol
Posts: 1115
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Shenandoah Valley of Virginia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SE/'98 Lehman Trike

Re: Adding an air pump

Post by CrystalPistol » Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:47 pm

A single 12Vdc hot with fused relay and a ground will "run" it, but what are you gonna use it for? It was hooked into a "air manifold" control that directed air when checking air in suspension or adjusting up or down(it had a sensor, displayed in digital dash, was all integrated) or if adding air to tires via air hose hook up or front or rear suspension.

If you're just looking to have air on board, burry it in the right fairing under pocket and simply run it off a switch and plumb to a hose outlet …
… or buy a portable plug in cigarette lighter type that you can store on the bike … (the easiest way)
Make Courtesy your "Code of the Road" …

… & Have a Safe Trip!
:)

tdm1963a
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:15 pm
Location: United States
Motorcycle: 1986 Goldwing 1200 interstate

Re: Adding an air pump

Post by tdm1963a » Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:56 pm

I got everything except for the wires to plug it in with. Just trying to add it to maintain the shocks easily. Onboard air would be nice also. I didn't know if there was a sub harness for it that I could just go and get to make the connection easier.

tdm1963a
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:15 pm
Location: United States
Motorcycle: 1986 Goldwing 1200 interstate

Re: Adding an air pump

Post by tdm1963a » Tue Mar 24, 2020 10:03 pm

Reread your post I didn't know about the pump being integrated with the instrument cluster. Have to rethink :-(



Post Reply